Why HNG internship ?

Why HNG internship ?

The HNG internship is one of the more exciting programs in Africa for what it aims to help a software developer do in a short period of time. For those who do not know the HNG internship aims to find and develop the most talented software developers in Africa through a three-month rigorous internship. If you are interested in learning more about the program, please refer to the following link. They also offer a training program through Zuri Training

Here are some of the goals I hope to achieve through this internship:

  • Opportunity to gain experience working as a remote developer as I believe this is the way of the future for many professions.

  • I would like to build confidence in working on production quality software and get more confidence in starting projects that I would be taking to market. This would also improve my value as a developer and help me get bigger and better opportunities

  • Improve my team collaboration skills and also improve my experience as a team player and possibly a team leader

Your question now might be how can I get started on this path of software development and specifically web development cause that is what I have experience with here are some resources to get you started:

  • Freecodecamp.org is a good place to start where they teach Fundamentals of HTML & CSS

  • You could then get into more in-depth web development by learning JavaScript. I would recommend a beginner-friendly course by Codecademy

  • One of the most important skills to acquire in software development is version control where git is widely used. There is a very in-depth ( and long) tutorial by Freecodecamp on YouTube which is very helpful to get you started

  • If you are more inclined to design rather than coding you could start by learning the Fundamentals of Design with Figma. You would then get started in UX Design through AJ smart videos on YouTube

Wish me luck.